Vanilla Bean Crème Brûlée

I don’t know about you, but my favourite place in the world is Canmore, Alberta. I love the atmosphere and mood. I love the view from anywhere in town. And I love the friendly people.

At about thirteen, I was in town with my family. It was an awesome trip; we ate good food, watched movies, and went swimming and hiking. My mom and I spent one day on Main Street, shopping. Since I have five siblings, my mom often doesn’t have time to hang out one-on-one, which made that day even more special. After perusing all the stores Main Street had to offer, we went to a bistro and shared Crème Brûlée. Honestly it was delightful! I have had Crème Brûlée since, but it never compares. I finally found a recipe that is just as delicious (not as much nostalgia surrounding it though).

 Image

Recipe adapted from: Alton Brown

Image 

Ingredients:
1 litre. Heavy cream
1 Vanilla bean, split and scraped
1 cup. White sugar, divided in half
6 large egg yolks
2 litres. Hot water

 

Directions:
Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

Place the cream, vanilla bean and its pulp into a medium pan and bring to a boil. Remove from the heat, cover and allow to sit for 15 minutes. Remove the vanilla bean.

In a medium bowl, whisk together HALF the sugar and the egg yolks until well blended and it lightens in color. Add the cream a little at a time, stirring continually. Pour the liquid into 6 (7 to 8-ounce) ramekins. Place the ramekins into a large cake pan or roasting pan. Pour enough hot water into the pan to come halfway up the sides of the ramekins. Bake just until the crème brûlée edges are set, but still trembling in the centre, approximately 40 to 45 minutes. Remove the ramekins from the roasting pan and refrigerate for at least two hours and up to three days.

Remove the crème brûlée from the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes prior to browning the sugar on top. Divide the remaining 1/2 cup of sugar equally among the 6 dishes and spread evenly on top. Using a torch or broiler, melt the sugar and form a crispy top.

The recipe does take a bit of time in the oven, but it’s worth it! All crème brûlée is flour-less, so gluten free, YAY! I hope you guys love this recipe as much as I do. Let me know what you think in the comments. Or tell me you’re favourite place and why.

 

4 thoughts on “Vanilla Bean Crème Brûlée

Leave a Reply

