Gluten Free Chocolate Marbled Banana Bread

Image

Yesterday I spent my morning watching team Canada play hockey in Sochi and baking gluten free banana bread.

Image

Apart for almost cooking my computer on the stove, it all went well. The bread turned out great and WE WON! Go Canada! I was going to make this blog post all about hockey, but then I realized I know  nothing… definitely not worth your time. What I do know a lot about is baking. Here is my Gluten Free Chocolate Marbled Banana Bread adapted from mysanfanciscokitchen.com:

Ingredients
  • 3/4 cup brown rice flour
  • 3/4 cup white rice flour
  • 1/2 cup tapioca starch
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • ¾ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup sugar
  • ¼ cup butter, softened
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • ⅓ cup plain low-fat yogurt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • ½ cup semisweet chocolate chips
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. In a mixing bowl, whisk the flours, starch, xanthan gum, baking soda, salt and cinnamon together.
  3. Add sugar and butter to a large bowl and beat with a mixer at medium speed until blended and fluffy.
  4. Add banana, eggs, vanilla and yogurt; beat until blended.
  5. Add flour mixture and beat at low speed until just blended.
  6. Melt chocolate chips in a microwave or in a double boiler, stirring until smooth.
  7. Add 1 cup batter to chocolate, stirring until well combined.
  8. Spoon chocolate batter alternately with plain batter into a greased 8½ x 4½-inch loaf pan.
  9. Swirl batters together using a knife.
  10. Bake for 1 hour and 10 minutes, or until a wooden pick inserted in centre comes out clean.

IMG_0765

Swirled batter before baking

I loved this banana bread, chocolatey, sweet, and a great texture. Also, it uses some yogurt instead of butter (for more tips like this check out this post). Delicious! Let me know if this is the type of recipes you want. Do you need a recipe for anything?

6 thoughts on “Gluten Free Chocolate Marbled Banana Bread

  1. I just love how you’ve incorporated a current event into your blog. I do have a suggestion. Add a couple more tags: hockey, Sochi, Team Canada. Plus anything else that you can think of that might pick up new readers.

Leave a comment